Weekend Reads

photo 2

Over the past few years I convinced myself that I had no time to read for pleasure. And if I somehow managed to find the time, the last thing I should be doing with said time – is reading. Recently I have forced myself to change my habits and devote at least an hour of my day simply to read. Whether I peruse other fashion blogs, catch up on style.comthe Cut, or read a book – I am reading. Early in the morning I prefer to read industry news, then before I go to bed, I dapple in a few of the books I am currently trying to complete. I have found that putting down my phone before bed and picking up a book, instead, really allows me to relax and unwind and get a better nights sleep.

photo 1

Right now I am reading Merchant Princes, The Body Book, and Let’s Pretend This Never Happened. I am able to dapple in all three because they have no similarities whatsoever.

I have had Merchant Princes for awhile now, but just recently picked it up. It offers a glimpse into the lives of some of the most influential Jewish families that established many of the most successful “retail emporiums” in America. So far, so good, but because it requires more focus I am struggling diving into it. Overall, I recommend it to anyone that is interested in learning more about the history of American department stores.

The Body Book is a more recent purchase of mine. A true lover of self-help books, I could not pass this one up. Author, actress, and Charlie’s Angel, Cameron Diaz uses the book to bluntly, effectively, and hilariously tell us like it is in regards to our bodies. It is such a fascinating read that I can’t put down. I feel like Cameron is my loud-mouth, best-friend that just so happens to know a lot about nutrition, exercise, and what our bodies crave to function at peak performance. I’ve already learned so much and I am even learning to, as Cameron instructs: “love my amazing body!”

Over the holiday break I caught the “it’s cold outside, let’s build a fire, and curl up with a good book” bug – so I bought Let’s Pretend This Never Happened for my iPad. It is mildly inappropriate due to Lawson’s sharp tongue, but her tales of life on a farm, growing up a middle school goth, and dealing with an anxiety disorder that causes her to tell outlandish stories in pressing social situations has me dying laughing. Even though I haven’t picked it up in a week or so, (probably because it’s on my iPad and nothing beats holding a book in your hand) Jenny Lawson is hysterical and will have you crying laughing.

So if you find yourself twiddling your thumbs this weekend, stuck inside the house, and not wanting to brave the cold – try sitting down to a good book. Because like my favorite fictional character, Eloise, always says “getting bored is not allowed!”

Blog Signature

One thought on “Weekend Reads

Leave a Reply

