An ode to Udit & What he taught me

When I was in New York, I met many new people that blossomed into life-long friendships.

photo 1

Udit [above] interned with me at Coach. We met at the Coach interviews in March and then on our first day of orientation, we saw each other, chatted, and the rest is history. Udit became my summer confidant, museum companion, bff (best foodie friend), and whether he knew it or not, my go-to for a critique on life and style. 

We spent hours at MoMa and the Guggenheim, over-indulged at many a restaurant, and laughed until we hurt. We were complete opposites, but one in the same. Udit, is from Mumbai, but studies at the School of the Art Institute in Chicago. He has a heart of gold, an eye for cutting-edge style, a passion for design, and an unmatched artistic talent.

When I was with Udit, I saw things differently, because he saw things differently. Everything was a work of art, an inspiration, a source of color. The streets weren’t just streets, a doodle not just a doodle, and a sunset not just a sunset. Udit would walk me through MoMa and the Guggenheim and act as my personal tour guide. At the time, I had a very small knowledge of art extending only to my Art History I class; so Udit would come in and explain to me how the artist wanted you to see this painting and point out trends behind the art. He opened my eyes and my heart to appreciate what I otherwise would have looked at with little appreciation.

Sometimes we rush through life without actually taking a look and appreciating what’s around us. We get to the point where, not only do we not stop to smell the roses – we don’t even see the roses anymore. Last summer Udit taught me to take life in, breathe, and throw my head back and laugh. Having Udit as a friend has been a great gift, and I cannot imagine last summer or each day, without him!

photo 1

“There are three classes of people: those who see, those who see when they are shown, those who do not see.” – Leonardo da Vinci

Thank you, Udit, for teaching me to see. 

Blog Signature

One thought on “An ode to Udit & What he taught me

Leave a Reply

