More Issues Than Vogue

instyle

“Honey, you have more issues than Vogue.”

The quote goes something like that, right? I’ve never actually.. said that to anyone so I’m not sure. I mean the opportunity to say it has definitely presented itself, but something about confrontation and haute couture fashion magazines never coincides in my mind, ya know?

I digress.

It’s that time. September issues are upon us, and I made sure to begin my Fall research yesterday. I’ll be giving you the dish on the September issues of InStyle, Vogue, and Harper’s Bazaar over the next month. Those three are the Holy Trinity of fashion mags. Don’t you agree?

While scanning the newsstand, I picked up InStyle. It’s their 20th anniversary issue and it is HUGE. InStyle editors picked no one other than the flawless Julia Roberts to grace their cover. She wears a timeless Louis Vuitton dress and belt, minimal makeup, and wisped curls. A timeless, iconic face for such an important issue!

Content, as important as it is, always seems to be overshadowed in September issues by the glossy new ad campaigns. Ads definitely didn’t disappoint this season, but I will admit that InStyle packed an impressively fierce punch with content.

I want to breakdown both. First, in this post, I’ll share with you my favorite 2014 autumn/winter ad campaigns. Then, later on this week, we can get down to some serious business, and talk about the content that you definitely don’t want to flip past.

The Ad Campaigns

I found this wonderful article on the Business of Fashion where they have curated a list of their ‘Top 10 Campaigns of the Season’. I agree with most of their picks, as I am especially fond of the Autumn/Winter 2014 Alexander McQueen campaign. As BoF detailed, a few fashion houses worked hard this season to acknowledge that it is the Chinese calendar’s Year of the Horse. How do I feel about that? Indifferent. But it is an interesting move. Is Alexander McQueen, Lanvin, and Hermés trying to hone in on that international demographic by paying their respects to the Chinese calendar? Perhaps.

AlexanderMcQueen

Another ad campaign that BoF picked that I am in awe of? BalenciagaSeriously? Gisele Bundchen with a buzz cut radiating a sultry/strong vibe? What’s not to love? Kudos to Alexander Wang. He’s a true visionary that knows how to translate what his brand is all about.

Balenciaga

However, there are some ads that BoF didn’t detail, but that I am LOVING.

“Lillian & Dot’s Top 10 Campaigns of the Season”

1 – CHANEL

chanel

I hated it the first time I saw it. “Coco would be so disappointed,” I said to myself. Fine leather in a weight room? Tweed paired with sneakers that look like.. Sketchers? Cara Delevingne’s neck tat taking up the whole right side of the ad? No. No. No way. But the more I looked at it, the better it got. A juxtaposition between the femininity that epitomizes Chanel and the strength that presents itself by the women wearing it. I like it. And Karl rarely does wrong. Why did I question him?!

2 – MaxMara

Amy Adams

I love Amy Adams. So when I saw this ad, I knew immediately it would stick with me as a favorite. The warm autumn tones in the coat and the bag perfectly pair with her hair and makeup. It’s such a pleasantly simple ad that really reflects their “timeless is now” theme.

3 – Tod’s

Tod's

Tod’s is revamping with a vengeance thanks to their new creative director, Alessandra Facchinetti. I read an article on her that I can’t seem to locate now (Use your bookmarks, Hanna! Ugh!), but it was really insightful. She wants to bring a new, elevated feel to the brand, and this campaign beautifully translates that effort. Love the colors, love the clean lines. And of course, love Tod’s iconic leather pieces.

4- Missoni

Missoni

For feel-good fashion I always turn to Missoni. I’m normally more a fan of neutrals, solids, and if I do go bold, it’s simply for color-blocking. So Missoni definitely drew me in with their playful campaign of bold color-blocking, pattern, and print play that isn’t too overwhelming for the plain fashionistas like myself.

5 – Dolce & Gabbana

Dolce & Gabbana
I fell in love with Dolce & Gabbana last summer in New York. I was walking down 5th Ave. trying to pretend that I wasn’t decked out in Gap, and Target (much love, but I mean, let’s be real) and I literally blew my cover by tourist-ly (new word?) stopping in front of Dolce & Gabbana’s window and staring, mouth agape. I had NEVER seen windows so beautiful. So it comes as no surprise that D&G would make my list for favorite fall ad campaigns. It’s cute, it’s fun, and it’s effortlessly beautiful. A dinner party I could only desire to be invited to.

6 – Burberry

Burberry
I shamelessly chose this ad solely because of Cara Delevigne. Her brows are the best thing to happen to the fashion industry. (And to lazy, unkempt brow girls like myself). But in all seriousness, I adore this ad. I love the colors and more so, I want those bags.

7 – Carolina Herrera

Carolina Herrera

Carolina Herrera will forever hold a special place in my heart. I think the woman is a genius (in fact, I quoted her on my post yesterday). I love the pattern play in this ad, and it really speaks to the Herrera woman. Timeless, chic, effortless, elegant, and feminine.

8 – Diane von Furstenberg

DvF

Like Carolina Herrera, Diane von Furstenberg is a fashion icon that I idolize. She has done wonders for the CFDA and for all women in the industry. She breathes life into her brand through her positive spirit. This ad is particularly sexy, feminine, and with the wrap dress, iconic. Love the mixture of prints, and the dark orchid.

9 – Salvatore Ferragamo

Ferragamo

Maybe it’s the shoes, maybe it’s the dark hues of orchid, but actually it’s probably the fierce leopard print. Regardless, I can’t stop staring at this Ferragamo ad. Love the minimalistic makeup, the clean lines, and the blunt haircuts. It’s an autumn/winter winner.

10 – Louis Vuitton (The best for last, right?)

LV

SO. You can read more about this ad at the BoF from people that actually know what they are talking about, (did I just blow my street cred?) and use really technical jargon. But nonetheless, I, myself, am really interested in this “curated series” by Annie Leibovitz, Juergen Teller, and Bruce Weber. Rather than using one photographer, creative director Nicolas Ghesquière opted for three. It’s an interesting approach, but it beautifully showcases the mixture of prints, materials, and silhouettes that epitomize the brand.

So three cheers for autumn/winter campaigns, for September issues, and that boot weather is almost here. (I’m really, really ready to put this 90 degree weather to bed.)

Blog Signature

One thought on “More Issues Than Vogue

  1. Rhonda says:

    Wonderful review and assessment of the Fall campaigns. Your talent for writing still blows my mind; gifted is an understatement!
    It made me smile to find in your earlier writings that Carolina Herrera is a favorite of yours, since she and Valentino are two of my favorite style icons. Add Halston and Oscar de la Renta to the conversation and I’ll hang on your every word.

    Proud of you and I’m excited for your future!!

    Hugs
    Rhonda

Leave a Reply

