Sunday Sentiments

 

IMG_8205.JPG

This is (me) today so I’m really appreciating the honesty coming from Leandra Medine of Man Repeller. (Disclaimer: it hasn’t been a week for me, but you can guarantee it has been a few days. Hashtag thick hair blessings.)

“Bathroom stall confession: I have not washed my hair since last Sunday.”

If you’re like me, you have such a thick head of hair that it causes horses to give your mane a double take. I went from hating the thickness, loving it, hating it, tolerating it, and now I just like to see how long I can stretch the “freshly washed and styled” look when really I’m teetering on the “four days unwashed because it’s such a daunting, time-consuming task” look.

May sound gross, but if it does, that makes you a “thin, fine head of hair”. Translated: your hair is thin and fine, washing is necessary daily, and you can’t fathom that there are girls out there walking around with hair three days unwashed.

For me, I’m past the point of being concerned whether the public thinks my hair is gross or not. Instead I have focused my energy on finding the perfect dry shampoo that will extend the life of my locks. I am dying to try these:

Dry Shampoo's We LOVE

Dry shampoos #’s 1-4 can be found at Sephora, and #5 at drugstores. The Sephora shampoos all received pretty spectacular ratings. I am particularly into trying the ‘Detox Dry Shampoo’ by drybar (#3).  (Cuz if it’s drybar, it’s good right?)

Here’s the details (ratings from sephora.com):

1 – ‘Pronto Dry Shampoo’ by Oscar Blandi, $11, 4 out of 5 stars

2 – ‘Cleanse Extend Translucent Dry Shampoo’ by Alterna, $22, 4 out of 5 stars

3 – ‘Detox Dry Shampoo’ by drybar, $20, 4 out of 5 stars

4 – ‘Express Dry Shampoo’ by Sephora Collection, $9.00, 3 out of 5 stars

5 – ‘Beautiful Clean Dry Shampoo’ by Suave Professionals, $3.99

Obviously, as you can see, #5 is a little out of place. Suave is the dry shampoo brand I use (ahem, college budget), but it really seems to get the job done. I like the fresh scent and it doesn’t create too much scalp-irritating build up. However, it takes a lot of massaging and blow drying to get the powder hidden. Pretty major downside.

I’m still on the search for the perfect dry shampoo, and I’ll pass it along once I find it. Do you have a favorite brand? I’d love to know!

IMG_8206-0

Leave a Reply

