You Get What You Pay For.. Right?

 Cosmetic Counter

“You get what you pay for.”

That’s how the saying goes. But I gotta ask, is that always the case? A former believer in that quote, I used to find myself often questioning the quality of many drugstore products (specifically cosmetics). Instead, I would find myself investing mostly in department store cosmetics, and attempting to stretch their wear until I was scraping the powder off the edges of the compact.

Not ideal.

With a college budget, that’s just not the wisest route to take. In fact, for any budget, wouldn’t you rather pay less for a product that is just as proficient as department store, high-end retailer quality?

So with this revelation, I began perusing the Harper’s Bazaar beauty columns, and I came across the most fitting article. The “10 Drugstore Must-Haves from Emma Stone’s Makeup Artist”. Intrigued, because WHO doesn’t want to (affordably) look like Emma Stone? I read the post only to find that the products featured were ones that I was familiar with! Some I had used, and some I had never actually tried. But that was about to change.

Although there will always be those department store products that I hold allegiance to, it’s good to know that affordable, high quality cosmetics do exist and are used by both your average Joes and the likes of Emma Stone.

To make you true believers, I’ve curated a list of products that I can firmly attest: really do work.

“Lillian & Dot’s Top 10 Fabulously Affordable Cosmetics”

Lillian & Dot's Top 10 Fabulously Affordable Cosmetics

 (click the image above to get instant links and prices to products)

1- e.l.f. Studio Lengthening & Volumizing Mascara. You’ll love it because it’s $3 and perfectly coats those hard to reach tiny lashes.

2 –  e.l.f. Wet Gloss Lash & Brow Clear Mascara. You’ll love it because it’s $3 and the gel keeps your brows in place for hours. An added bonus? It doesn’t take much! So you’ll get a lot of use out of this product.

3 – NYX Eyebrow Cake Powder. You’ll love it because it provides two shades of powder and a gel that glides on easily.

4 – Sonia Kashuk Perfecting Transparent Mattifier. You’ll love it because a little bit goes a long way! It leaves your skin feeling flawless and diminishes the look of those pesky pores.

5 – Sonia Kashuk Bare Minimum Pressed Powder Bronzer. You’ll love it first and foremost because its a beautiful palette, but the color is even better. It doesn’t leave your skin looking dirty, just sunkissed!

6 – Neutrogena Healthy Skin Smoothing Stick. You’ll love it because the stick allows for spot-on, easy application. It’s the best concealer I have ever used!

7 – MAYBELLINE Baby Lips Lip Balm. You’ll love it because it comes in a plethora of colors and finishes, it leaves your lips hydrated, and the packaging is super cute.

8 – CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser. You’ll love it because it’s non-comedogenic, so it leaves those oils your skin desperately needs, but strips it of that dirty gunk!

9 – Aveeno Active Naturals Positively Radiant Tinted Moisturizer. You’ll love it because it smells great, feels amazing, and leaves your skin with a healthy glow on those days you’d rather just skip the bronzer and go as au naturale as possible.

10 – FLOWER Win Some, Rouge Some Créme Blush. I saved the BEST for last.

Always hesitant of créme blushes, it’s taken me until just a few days ago to make this purchase. However, anxious to try the new FLOWER Cosmetics by Drew Barrymore (that’s sold exclusively at Wal Mart and walmart.com), I figured their créme blush might be a good place to start. SO correct. 

I tried the shade “Forget-me-not” and used a wedge sponge applicator on the apples of my cheeks and brushed upwards towards my hair line. It went on smoothly, didn’t require a lot, and the color was perfect! The best part? It stayed perfectly placed on my typically oily skin. I highly recommend this product, and can’t wait to try the other items in the line.

Another reliable review on FLOWER that you don’t want to miss? Annalise Holmes of Miss Sherlock loves their Lip Butter in “Haute Honeysuckle”. Check out how she adorably pairs her bold lip with a boho vibe, here.

Beauty is only skin deep, but throwing some rouge on the cheeks and gloss on your lips always makes you look your very best. Plus, at the price of these products, you can afford to splurge elsewhere! (You know you need those shoes.) 

IMG_8206-0

One thought on “You Get What You Pay For.. Right?

Leave a Reply

