A Brief Pep Talk & Some Exciting News

Ask me who I dream to work for and without batting an eye, I’ll tell you: Eva Chen, Editor in Chief at Lucky Mag.

(Disclaimer: Anna Wintour would do nicely, too.)

(PS: The Everygirl would work as well.)

Eva Chen

My obsession with Eva began after doing a research project on the impact that diverse individuals in auxiliary units have on the fashion industry. As an Asian-American, Eva fit our research mold perfectly, so I was “LUCKY” enough (see what I did there?) to be able to study her extensively. Since the research study, I have kept up with her on social media where her posts resonate with a wide audience of fashion followers due to their light nature. And not thinking I could admire her anymore, I found this article from The New York Times on her personal and professional background. I was floored from this particular quote: “Ask my assistant, I give two informational interviews a week,” she [Eva] said. “I want to help people find what’s right for them.”

“I want to help people find what’s right for them.”

Mentorship is so important. And maybe I know so because I’ve had many talented mentors influence me throughout my 20-something years of life. From past and present mentors, to those to come, it is crucial to me that I always have a variety of people that I can talk to about personal and professional questions, goals, and concerns. And you should find it crucial, too.

That may seem fairly obvious, but oftentimes (unfortunately) people will not take advantage of the knowledge and expertise of those around them. As I have matured I have realized how important it is to ask questions (something instilled in me at Coach. Thanks Karmin!), be curious, and seek out the individuals that will be more than happy to lend a helping hand. (Those people do exist.)

And something important to remember is that, regardless of where you fall on the totem pole; your boss, your bosses boss, and your bosses bosses boss had to start somewhere, too. And guess what? They’re just people. Just like you. BUT, that does not give you leeway to disrespect, discredit, or diminish their position. Odds are they worked tirelessly to get to where they are. Just like they expect you to do so, as well.

So it is my wish that whether you are starting a new job, a new school, a new hobby, or a new sport remember to: 1) seek and secure a mentor, 2) pay attention, be curious, ask questions, 3) remember all people are people, and 4) pay it forward; offer mentorship to someone else.

ANYWAY! All of that was just one big preface to the most fantastic news! EVA CHEN IS AN AMAZING MENTOR, AND EVA CHEN THE AMAZING MENTOR IS EXPECTING! And she told the world yesterday with the cutest, most fitting picture EVER!

Seriously? This WILL be the CUTEST, CHICEST baby on THE PLANET! (Can you tell I’m excited?)

Congratulations, Eva and Tom! You guys will be great!

IMG_8206-0

I would like to take a moment to thank all of my past and present mentors! I know you know who you are. I would list everyone individually with a gigantic thanks, but there aren’t enough words nor hours in the day! 

Also, if you are looking for some serious mentorship that will shape you professionally (via the web), I want to recommend the following resources: Lean In, Levo League, and The Everygirl

 

One thought on “A Brief Pep Talk & Some Exciting News

Leave a Reply

