A Perspective on Mentorship from Queen TB

It was just a few days ago that I shared with you how much I appreciate mentorship, and how invaluable it is to your success both personally and professionally.

If you’ll remember, I featured an article that I found on one of my favorite industry professionals, Editor in Chief of LUCKY mag, Eva Chen. Today, it is my greatest pleasure to share with you ANOTHER piece I found on mentorship, internships, and words of wisdom from none other than the Queen of the UES, Tory Burch.

Tory Burch

Photo source

(The following quote is taken directly from Tory Daily. You can see this article firsthand, and check out links to more of her blog by clicking here.)

When asked about starting out in the industry, this is what Tory had to say:

“The one thing that every entrepreneurial journey has in common is that there are many, many steps on the road to success. If you view each one as an opportunity to learn something, there is always something you will take away from that experience. In my past jobs and internships, I have done everything from getting coffee to running interference for shy designers. And I have absorbed the advice of smart people. My parents told me to think of negativity as noise, while a good friend once said to ‘Never shy away from the word ambition.’” — Tory

I think we can all agree that there is no room for negativity in our lives. Just like Tory shared, negativity IS noise and it hinders growth in and out of the workplace.

To combat negativity? Continue to seek mentors, positive relationships, and remember to be the best at whatever task you are assigned to do. Because you don’t want to be the source of negativity to someone else by complaining about your work.

Another tidbit of advice for today: before I left to intern at Coach, my mom told me:

“Regardless of what you’re doing, be the best at it. If that’s making copies? Be the best copier there ever was.”

Needless to say, I was a dang good copier. And aside from one mishap with a stapler, all was well.

IMG_8206-0

 

Leave a Reply

