Your questions.. ANSWERED

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again. NOTHING makes me happier than receiving a call, text, a Facebook message, or an email from a reader sharing their support for Lillian & Dot. However, there is ONE thing better than fan mail (*hair flip*), and that is when I receive an email from a reader asking for advice. (Like, that means you think I know what I’m talking about. Cue excited squeal.)

CallMe

So yesterday, I received an email from a reader who was inquiring my opinions on skincare – moisturizers to be exact. She said she was interested in a moisturizer offered from a large company and wanted to know my opinions on: 1) the company, and 2) moisturizers in general.

I won’t disclose my opinions on the company, but I tried to answer her question on moisturizers to the best of my ability, and I realized that if she had this question, then perhaps others may, too!

Question1

To adequately find a solution to this question it is important that you start your search by being extremely familiar with your skin type. Some may scoff, and say ‘duh’. But others may not have ever really thought about what it is that their skin actually needs. Do you have dry skin? Oily? Combination? Sensitive? The first step is to IDENTIFY your skin type. This is crucial because all skin types vary and all skin types have a product that is designed specifically for them.

Next, you need to do your research. Know what it is that your skincare regimen should contain and what it SHOULDN’T. Clearly I’m here to help you skip this step. So let’s make this simple. The ONE word you NEED to know while commencing the skincare search is non-comedogenic. My dermatologist shared this magic word with me last year and it has made a world of difference when choosing not just skincare products, but makeup products as well. Non-comedogenic simply means that the product does not contain additives, oils, fragrances, or any other junk that will cause your pores to clog. Seriously, magic word. If a product claims to be non-comedogenic it is claiming to work, people.

So when trying to answer my reader’s question, I discovered that the company that she was interested in purchasing a moisturizer from offered a non-comedogenic moisturizer (hoorah!). However, the price was pretty steep for only 4.5 ounces. So my advice to her? The advice my dermatologist gave me. Save your money and don’t funnel so much into department store skincare products that are oftentimes filled with fragrances and additives. Instead, head to your local drugstore to purchase these guys:

Skincare1

Yep, that’s right. The classic Cetaphil and the popular CeraVe. Both are non-comedogenic, offer a variety of options for every skin type, and are significantly less-expensive. Kinda hard to beat wouldn’t you agree?

And what’s so cool is that that’s not just MY opinion, it’s my dermatologists expert advice. Don’t you just love the free tips? I don’t even charge a co-pay!

So let’s keep the questions rolling. Drop me a line at:

Email

 

Happy Wednesday!

IMG_8206-0 

3 thoughts on “Your questions.. ANSWERED

  1. Tiffany Hames says:

    I’m running low on the Mary Kay moisturizer I normally use, so I decided to go to Walgreens and check these two moisturizers out. One thing my dermatologist told me to look for in sunscreen for my face is zinc oxide. The Cetaphil moisturizer with sunscreen doesn’t have the zinc in it, but the Cerave does, so I bought some. Excited to try it. Hopefully it won’t irritate my skin, as my skin is extreme sensitive!

  2. uglyprettypeople says:

    Hanna, this is Courtney LeSueur! Your GORGEOUS blog/instagram/twitter etc. etc. etc. has inspired me to get out of hiding, and by hiding I mean journaling, and take to a new blog with my musings. So, thank you! I’ve blogged off and on for years now, but I’m taking this one and running with it. I hope you’ll join me for this adventure. I love what you’ve been doing, you’re fabulous!

Leave a Reply

